Erase all storage drive data

It is recommended that you erase all storage drive data before recycling a storage drive or the computer.

To erase all storage drive data:

  1. Set a hard disk password for the storage drive you will recycle. See UEFI BIOS passwords.

  2. Restart the computer. When the logo screen is displayed, press F1 or Fn+F1.

  3. Select Security > Hard Disk Password > Security Erase HDD Data and press Enter.

  4. Select the storage drive you will recycle and press Enter.

  5. A message is displayed, prompting you to confirm the operation. Select Yes and press Enter. The erasing process begins.
    Note: During the erasing process, the power button and the keyboard are disabled.
  6. After the erasing process is completed, a message is displayed, prompting you to reset the system. Select Continue.
    Note: Depending on the storage drive capacity, the erasing process will take half an hour to three hours.
  7. After the resetting process is completed, one of the following will happen:
    • If the data on the system storage drive is erased, you will be prompted that no operating system is available.

    • If the data on the non-system storage drive is erased, the computer restarts automatically.